Friday, June 25, 2010

FREE 22 Song Hydra Head Digital Sampler

Hydra Head Records (full disclosure: I work there. That is me on the bottom right) has unveiled a FREE digital sampler called Phoning It In. It is chock full of 22 metal tracks that run the gamut from crushingly heavy to maniacally fast, to hauntingly ambient. Some are previously unreleased, some are rare, all are awesome (and one is a joke. Guess which?) Peep the list below, procure the music, and find some new gems to jam out on your digital listening device of choice (or record them to cassette to ride high on the wave of neo-nostalgia). This is the soundtrack to your heavy metal summer.

Download the FREE Hydra Head digital sampler here!

1. Oxbow + Philippe Thiphaine - "Coalking" From Songs for the French (5:46)
2. Daughters - "The First Supper" From "s/t" (3:18)
3. Bohren & Der Club Of Gore - "Unkerich" From Dolores (5:31)
4. Knut - "Calamity" From Wonder (1:43)
5. The Austerity Program - "Song 27" From Backsliders and Apostates Will Burn (4:04)
6. Pyramids With Nadja - "Another War" From Pyramids With Nadja (15:27)
7. Helms Alee - "Lionize" From Lionize/Truly 7" (2:45)
8. Hayaino Daisuki - "Ghosts of Purgatory" From The Invincible Gate Mind of the Infernal Fire Hell, or Did You Mean Hawaii Daisuki? (2:43)
9. Harvey Milk - "I Know This Is No Place For You" From A Small Turn of Human Kindness (5:07)
10. La Gritona - "Tony Alamo" From Demasiado Tonto Para Los Ninos Listos. Demasiado Listo Para Los Ninos Tontos (4:38)
11. Stephen Brodsky - "Here In Spirit" From Here's to the future (5:54)
12. Jodis - "Continents" From Secret House (7:27)
13. Nihill - "Mundus Subterreanus" From Krach (5:16)
14. Cave In - "Retina Sees Rewind" From Planets of Old (2:30)
15. Kayo Dot - "II. Whisper Ineffable" From Coyote (11:13)
16. Keelhaul "THC for One" from Keelhaul's Triumphant Return to Obscurity (3:34)
17. Clouds - "New Bombs" From B Chuggas May Be Logging (2:08)
18. Xasthur - "UNTITLED 4/05" From 2005 Demo (7:02)
19. GridLink - "Amber Gray" From Amber Gray (1:06)
20. Greymachine - "Wasted" From Disconnected (8:43)
21. Bergraven - "Hunger" From Till Makabert Vasen (7:08)
22. Torche - "UFO" From Songs For Singles (2:01)

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Lego AK-47

If they had actually manufactured this as a(n incredibly politically incorrect) set, it would have had the top slot on every birthday and christmas list I ever had. Even if I got it every time.

Monday, June 21, 2010

Human Pixels

These koreans make cheerleaders look like neutrinos (I'm not going to explain).

Tuesday, June 8, 2010